2017 November Election RGV Candidates

A Running List of 2017 November Election RGV Candidates (Updating)


Who’s ready for the circus?

Currently, I’ve amassed a list of candidates who have officially registered with Hidalgo County. Cameron County Elections Clerk will not release declared candidates until on or after August 25. I have yet to hear from Starr and Willacy County.

We’ll be updating the list as we go along.

City of Alamo

  • Commissioner
    • Molly Gallegos
    • Robert de la Garza (Incumbent)

City of Donna

  • Mayor
    • Irene Munoz (Incumbent)
  • Council Pl. 1
    • Sonia Gallegos (Incumbent)
  • Council Pl. 3
    • Simon Sauceda (Incumbent)
  • Municipal Judge
    • Javier Garza

City of Edcouch

  • Mayor
    • Robert Schmalzried (Incumbent)
  • Councilman Pl. 3
    • Marcy Moreno (Incumbent)
  • Councilman Pl. 4
    • Daniel Guzman (Incumbent)

City of Edinburg

  • Mayor
    • Richard H. Garcia (Incumbent)
    • Richard Molina
  • City Council Seat 1
    • Jorge “Coach” Salinas
    • Fern McClaugherty
    • Richard Gonzalez
  • City Council Seat 2
    • J.R. Betancourt (Incumbent)

City of La Joya

  • Commissioner
    • Mary Salinas (Incumbent)
    • Victorio Salinas, Jr.

City of Progreso

  • Mayor
    • Arturo Aleman (Incumbent)
  • Councilman
    • Ruben Abundiz
    • Eric Chaidez

City of Weslaco

  • Commissioner Pl. 2
    • Greg Kerr
  • Mayor Pro Tem, Dist. 3
    • Olga Noriega


Previous Story

The Worst Crap For Sale on the RGV Facebook Marketplace Vol. I

Next Story

Watch a Husky KRGV Reporter Get Real Sweaty For Some Reason

Latest from RGV